Outrageous Protection

IMG_7995.JPG
Spot the merchandise

The parcel arrived at last. I’ve been waiting for some time to get my German language CDs. The size of the box promised an abundance of learning materials, though it did feel rather light.

When I unpacked it my expectations diminished as I removed each layer of packaging – some air-inflated plastic bags, two sheets of bubble wrap, a largish box covered with useful looking words and then inside this, another cardboard shape to keep the precious cargo from wobbling around too much. No book, which I’d hoped for. Just the CDs, and these were safely stored in a smart padded CD case.

Haven’t they heard of jiffy bags?

This is not the first time this has happened and I’m finding it increasingly disturbing. I appreciate the need to ensure an item reaches from A to B intact, but in trying to achieve this, why discard all common sense in the process?

I think of all the thousands parcels flying from one place to another on a daily basis. I think of all the packaging. Where is it all ending up?

Leave a Reply

